FOLLOW-UP REPORTS: Illinois teen admits he made up MOUNTAIN LION ATTACK story ~ AUTHOR’S NOTE.

Follow-Up Reports:

(See October 4, 2011: 14-year-old Illinois hunter says he survived MOUNTAIN LION attack.)

Illinois 10/11/11 dnr.state.il.us: News Release – “To Whom it may Concern:  My name is Jeremiah Dice. I am 14 years old and would like to make a public apology. Saturday, October 1st, I made up a story that I had been attacked by a mountain lion. That was a lie. The truth is I got sleepy in my deer stand and while I was climbing down, my feet slipped and I fell to the ground and I hurt myself. I was afraid if I told my parents I fell, they would not let me go hunting again by myself. I saw a bobcat earlier in the day so I came up with the story of the mountain lion attack to cover my scratches from the fall. Before I knew what was happening my lie quickly got out of control. (I have never used the internet or facebook and had no idea how fast something could travel). Before I knew it, my lie spread like wildfire like throwing a match in a pile of dry leaves. I didn’t do it for attention or to hurt anyone. I felt like I was in a trap and couldn’t get out. My parents and the game wardens told me how important it was to tell the truth, but I was scared. During a talk with my parents, I broke and I couldn’t lie anymore. I told them the truth. There was no mountain lion. I‘m sorry and ask for forgiveness. I’ve learned it’s better to tell the truth even if you get in trouble because if you keep on lying you’ll be in even more trouble than you can imagine.  Jeremiah Dice”

AUTHOR’S NOTE

Posts will be limited

For several more weeks

due to

carpal tunnel syndrome.

Leave a Reply

